Vox Populi Forum

Link back to Spacegamer Here!

Outlands 26 Sept

The blue spire sage was planted in the dust of the sandstone idols. Our enchanter, Tamoon, created a cosmic field; the plant ripen forward a season. An odd magical NPC, Omar, assisted for a purse of coins, Ungmar’s. Some of us fled; some of us stayed to watch. The resulting foul stank made thousands ill and coated the marble statues of the gods with tar. Ungmar fled through the sewers, so he thought the arcane sage quite pleasant.

We were ordered to clean the entire city, a task of many lifetimes. Our mission one patron, Bagdan Kryt, interceded, and we were released to his custody, after he cleansed the city.

Bagdan Kryt denied he knew anything about the sandstone statue problems. “I would do no such thing. I am a professor of ethics. Paval probably had a mishap with one of his many Hexes.”

The story was plausible. There was no one to trust, but patrons are usually not betrayers of those they hire. Of course, Paval of Kiev was our patron too. A quest with too patrons and a Janissary Rival, Valentin.

Bagdan showed a letter from Kiev, with the seal of the Academy, requesting the statue be found in the archives and sent. “I thought it was a plus that the thing was so horrifying to view. Primitive and unclad in the loins, a spectacle!”

If further proof was needed, compare our philosophies. “Rosti thinks wars are divine instruments; are gods of chaos to be embraced? A Just War for a good cause is the path to civil rule and the end to baronial conflicts. If Kiev sets the dogma, we’ll still have pagan fire worshipers pillaging and burning indiscriminately.” (To a degree he is talking of the player character raiders.)

“That and of course my former pupil, Paval, was a member of the Servants of the Grey One. Once a minion, always a minion?”